This Mom Lost It

Do you have kids?  I have two beautiful angels!  I love them more than life itself and thank God EVERY day for allowing me to be their mother!  EVERY day.  Every…single…day…

Okay, that might be an exaggeration.  I may not thank Him every day.  Actually, I probably haven’t thanked Him in a while.  In all honesty…my kids have been terrible lately!  TERRIBLE!  They’ve been ungrateful, rude, entitled, mean to each other, lazy…you get the idea.  I still love them with the strength of a thousand suns though, and that’s why I had to do what I did.

My kids went to school last Friday and thought that it was going to be just like any other ol’ normal day.  And it was that morning.  They wouldn’t get out of bed.  They yelled at me and their dad when we tried coaxing them out of their blankets, and when we pulled the blankets off, and when we peeled them physically off of their sheet. They wouldn’t brush their teeth or hair.  They were rude when I offered breakfast and help making their lunches.

The problem is that this wasn’t new.  This had been going on for longer than I’d like to admit, and I HAD HAD ENOUGH!  I don’t want my kids to be the entitled jerks that I see so often who think the world owes them everything and that they shouldn’t have to work for anything!  It’s hard when you want to give your child the world, and you want them to have everything you didn’t when you were growing up.  It’s hard to say no when they ask for things.  I’ve realized though that I’m not doing them any favors or the world by creating little monsters.  Something had to change!

After they were dropped off at school my husband and I got to work.  We packed EVERYTHING up in their room.  All electronics, toys, games, stuffed animals, crayons, pens….everything.  We left them their lamps, beds, clothes, and some books!

IMG_0222.JPG

Then we waited.  My husband works evenings, so he wasn’t with me when I picked them up from school and brought them home.  They took a while to notice that there was something missing in their room.  I think they both thought that we had just cleaned for them.  Then the reality hit them and started to sink in.  We had taken their things and they were UPSET!  The tears, and crying, and pleading for their things back.  I explained that it wouldn’t be that easy.  That their dad and I would come up with a way for them to earn their things back, but that it wasn’t going to happen that weekend, and I didn’t know when we would have it all planned out.

It’s been 5 days and I think this punishment for them has hit the mark.  They’ve asked constantly what they can do to earn back computers, phones, toys.  It’s been just as hard on us because they don’t really have anything in their rooms to entertain themselves other than each other.  I have seen some positive changes though.  They’ve been more polite, they’re actually playing made up games with each other instead of staring at electronic screens, and they also have managed to keep their rooms clean.

We’ve come up with a list of things that they can do and will also teach them some responsibility, give them some work ethic, and also includes some giving/being nice to others.  I’m not sure how this will work…or even if it will, but it’s a start.

IMG_0221.JPG

So all you moms and dads out there say a little prayer for us!  And if you see us out in public a little nod of solidarity might help our spirits.  It’s going to be tough…but I refuse to have asshole kids!

Wish me luck!

xoxo Jamie

 

One thought on “This Mom Lost It

Leave a Reply

